Discover the F Sharp Major Scale

The F sharp major scale has six sharps giving us F, C, G, D, A and E sharped in this scale. The sharp scales move in the circle of 5ths.

This scale has two open strings that will work in it. The 6th and the 1st string are a perfect 4th away from F sharp.

This scale is made from the tetrachords from the B and C sharp scales.

Learning more about tetra-chords before going on will help you.

Major scales and Tetra-chords

These scales are related, you will see the same notes and chords in the C sharp, F sharp and G sharp scales.

These scale names are also the names of the major chords in the F sharp scale.

F Sharp Major Scale Note Layout

F Sharp Tetra-Chords

The first tetra-chord comes from the 2nd tetrachord in the B major scale and the 2nd tetra-chord comes from the 1st tetra-chord in the C sharp major scale.

The F Sharp Major Scale Numbering

All the major scales have numbers that go with their notes. This way of referring to numbers makes it possible to refer to all scales and chords no matter what key.

Referring to chords the numbers are written in Roman numerals, upper case for major chords and lower case for minor and diminished chords.

F Sharp Major Notation-Tab

The F Sharp Major Scale Chords

The F Sharp Major Chord Diagrams

The F Sharp Major Key Signature

This is how the key signature looks when you’re in the key of F♯. The Sharp symbols are on the F and D lines and the C, G, A and E spaces of the staff.

This doesn’t mean the music can’t have other flats or sharps in it. They will be marked in the music itself but the F, C, G, D, A and E won’t be so you have to remember them. B is the only note that’s not sharp.

Reading Music Notes

Here is a link on how to read music notes.

Reading Music Notation

Music Intervals

When you know the circle of 5th’s it’s fairly easy to remember the sharps. The 5ths circle is the 4ths circle in the opposite direction.

To learn more about intervals check out the intervals page below.

Musical Intervals